10 States Now Have Laws to Encourage Adoption of Research Animals

Last year, Maryland became the 7th state to pass The Beagle Bill allowing healthy dogs and cats an opportunity to be adopted into loving homes after they have served their time in research.

There are now 10 states with this law including Minnesota, Maryland, New York, California, Connecticut, Rhode Island, Delaware, Illinois, Nevada, and Washington. Currently, Michigan, Oregon, Massachusetts and New Jersey are considering this legislation so that animals who have sacrificed so much can be adopted loving families.

10 states now encourage adoption of research dogs into loving homes