Information for Howard County Residents

Howard County Residents:  Speak out against Sunday Hunting and Reduction of the Safety Zone: Delegate Flanagan is introducing legislation ( HoCo 16-18) that would allow deer hunting on Sundays in Howard County for the first time in 300 years. The 99.9854% of Howard County residents who do not hunt deserve a safe day outdoors for recreation. This proposed bill also includes provisions to decrease the safety zone to as little as 100 yards from your home, barn or hiking trail, including in suburban residential neighborhoods.
No objective data has shown that Sunday hunting is effective in reducing the deer population, reducing Lyme disease or deer/auto accidents; in fact, Sunday hunting does not increase the number of deer killed, it just changes the days on which it’s done.
Howard County has always been a progressive community, and we have stopped Sunday Hunting twice in the past. We can and must do it again. Speak out now; there are already 6 days a week for almost 5 months a year to hunt and all we want is one hunting-free day on Sundays!
Call and email the Howard County Delegates (individually) to say you are against HoCo 16-18 that would allow Sunday Hunting and reduce the safety zone in Howard County.  Yes, we have stopped this before.
Just one vote can make the difference so do not delay.  Tell them to vote “NO” to HoCo 16-18.
 Howard County State Delegation
 Delegates
District 9A
Trent Kittleman                     410-841-3556           trent.kittleman@house.state.md.us
District 9A
Warren Miller                        410-841-3582           warren.miller@house.state.md.us
District 9B
Robert Flanagan                 410-841-3077           bob.flanagan@house.state.md.us
District 12
Eric Ebersole                        410-841-3328           eric.ebersole@house.state.md.us
Terri Hill                                 410-841-3378           terri.hill@house.state.md.us
Clarence Lam                       410-841-3205           clarence.lam@house.state.md.us
District 13
Vanessa Atterbeary             410-841-3471           vanessa.atterebeary@house.state.md.us
Shane Pendergrass            410-841-3139           shane.pendergrass@house.state.md.us
Frank Turner                         410-841-3246           frank.turner@house.state.md.us
 Senators:
District 9
Gail Bates                              410-841-3671           gail.bates@senate.state.md.us
District 12
Edward Kasemeyer             410-841-3653           edward.kasemeyer@senate.state.md.us
District 13
Guy Guzzone                       410-841-3572           guy.guzzone@senate.state.md.us
 

 

 

Lisa Radov

President and Chairman at Maryland Votes for Animals, Inc.
Lisa Radov has been passionate about helping animals since she was eight years old when she embarked on her first fundraising campaign to help stop the slaughter of baby harp seals in Canada.

Lisa has a B.A. in International Relations from the University of Pennsylvania and an MBA in Marketing and Advertising from the Tulane University A.B. Freeman School of Business. She was the Owner and Director of Marketing at Gebco Insurance Associates, Inc. from 1986- 2016 and is a Certified Yoga Instructor.

A lover of all animals, Lisa has rescued two dogs, four pet lab rats, six cats, two hamsters, and two guinea pigs.

A mother of four, Lisa has chaired fundraising campaigns and been an active board member of the Parents' Associations at her children's schools. She became politically active in animal issues when her youngest child started volunteering at the shelter where they adopted their two cats.

Lisa is dedicated to passing laws that will make Maryland a leader in the humane treatment of all animals - companion, farm, and wildlife.